





# **Northeast Georgia National History Day Regional Contest**

# **AWARD WINNERS**

Presented at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel Saturday, February 10, 2024

Congratulations to all participants of the 2024 Northeast Georgia National History Day Regional Contest for your hard work and achievement! A special congratulations to the following award winners, who received medals and will advance to the statewide Georgia National History Day at LaGrange College in April.

#### **DOCUMENTARY - JUNIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Ariana Browner / Kaydon Jones

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Let's Reach for New Heights and Fight for Women's Rights

2ND PLACE Abby Green / Neko Vick

Hilsman Middle School

Pattie Hilsman and the Development of Junior Highs

3RD PLACE Anthony Jimenez / Navon Johnson

Putnam County Middle School

The Invention of the Telephone

#### **DOCUMENTARY - JUNIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE **Peyton Oliver** 

Putnam County Middle School

Voices of the Past: Surviving the Great Depression

2ND PLACE Stella Dawson

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Lights, Camera, Action

#### **DOCUMENTARY - SENIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Caitlyn Sim / Maggie Woolley / Danielle Rash

Greater Atlanta Christian School
The Revolution of Apple iPhone

#### **EXHIBIT - JUNIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Amelia Aldridge / Ruby Nackashi / Olive Forrester / Gabriela Carcamo

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

The Invention of the Radio

2ND PLACE Karim Lumpkin / Valeria Guerra Montiel / Mary Jane Okoli

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Coco Chanel: Revolutionizing Women's Fashion

3RD PLACE Ragen Watkins / Henry Ramirez

Hilsman Middle School

The History of Black Education in Athens, Georgia

#### **EXHIBIT - JUNIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE Isabella Hammock

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Da Awesome Da Vinci: A Man Ahead of His Time

2ND PLACE Mackenna Kilpatrick

Clarke Middle School

The Women's Suffrage Parade

3RD PLACE Estrella Garcia-Rodriguez

Hilsman Middle School

The First Industrial Revolution and How It Destroyed Us

#### **EXHIBIT - SENIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Ainsley Cundill / Tracie Scaife

Greater Atlanta Christian School Breaking Boundaries: Title IX

2ND PLACE Simran Mitha / Joy El-khoury / Addie Stinchcomb

Greater Atlanta Christian School

The Influence of Fast Food in American History

3RD PLACE Elikem Avoke / Emerson Baggett

North Oconee High School

The Antibiotic Revolution

#### **EXHIBIT - SENIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE Anna Lawson

North Oconee High School

The Split of the Methodist Church in 1844

2ND PLACE Piou Adjato

Archer High School

The Literary Legacy of the Harlem Renaissance

3RD PLACE Grace Buckley

North Oconee High School

Black Listing by the Un-American Activities Committee Led to the Destruction of Lives

in the Mid-Twentieth Century

#### **PAPER - JUNIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE Alan Madera

Hilsman Middle School

The Integration & Resegregation of Public Schools in America

2ND PLACE Treylon Johnson

Hilsman Middle School

King Assassination and the End of the Poor People's Campaign

3RD PLACE Senya Kero

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Women's Liberation Movement

#### **PAPER - SENIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE Sawyer Roberts

Archer High School

Forecasting the Unforecastable: How Weather Forecasting Improvements Impacted Broadcast Meteorology and How the American Public Interacts with Weather

2ND PLACE Colette Elarbee

North Oconee High School

A Turning Point in U.S. History: The Impact of Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka

3RD PLACE Rache Elarbee

North Oconee High School

How Watergate Forever Changed How the United States Views Its Leaders

### **PERFORMANCE - JUNIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Claire Salter / Courtney Muench / Jolie Garrett / Emerson deDufour

Hilsman Middle School

The Titanic and Safety Boats

2ND PLACE Daniella Denmark / Damon Flint / Jayden Stephens

Hilsman Middle School

Katrina Highlights National Inequalities

3RD PLACE Opal Hensley-Williams / Autumn Fayerweather / Sage Dennison / Luca McDonald /

**Ryan Watkins** 

Hilsman Middle School

The First Drive Thru - McDonald's

#### **PERFORMANCE - JUNIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE Jay Braswell

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

"Dear Mr. President..."

#### **WEBSITE - JUNIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Tiger Tabb / Jackson Rushing / Marlon McCranie / Joshua James / Jonathan

**Carrillo Ramirez** 

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Battle of Midway

2ND PLACE Dalton Butler / James Cooper

Putnam County Middle School

The Space Race

3RD PLACE **Tegan Rainey / Avery Thomas** 

Putnam County Middle School

D-Day

#### **WEBSITE - JUNIOR - INDIVIDUAL**

1ST PLACE Charlie Crawford

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Pearl Harbor, the Event that Changed the Trajectory of World War Two

2ND PLACE Jude Cranston

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

Invasion of Afghanistan

3RD PLACE Parker Armstrong

Hilsman Middle School

The Military Tank

#### **WEBSITE - SENIOR - GROUP**

1ST PLACE Walker McGoldrick / Zane Taylor

North Oconee High School

Selective Incorporation: Rights for Everyone, Everywhere

2ND PLACE Xindi Yao / Kriti Sonal

North Oconee High School

Integration of UGA

# **Overall Award Winners**

# T.R.R. Cobb House Southern History Award - Junior Division

#### **EXHIBIT**

# Ragen Watkins / Henry Ramirez

Hilsman Middle School

The History of Black Education in Athens, Georgia

## T.R.R. Cobb House Southern History Award - Senior Division

#### **WFBSITF**

### Xindi Yao / Kriti Sonal

North Oconee High School Integration of UGA

## T.R.R. Cobb House Overall Junior Division Winner

#### **PERFORMANCE**

### **Jay Braswell**

Burney-Harris-Lyons Middle School

"Dear Mr. President"

#### T.R.R. Cobb House Overall Senior Division Winner

#### **EXHIBIT**

#### Anna Lawson

North Oconee High School

The Split of the Methodist Church in 1844



The 2024 Northeast Georgia National History Day Overall Awards and the T.R.R. Cobb House Southern History Award are sponsored by the T.R.R. Cobb House and Watson-Brown Foundation. Junior Division winners receive a \$75 award and Senior Division winners receive a \$100 award.